Motorcycle liability and full coverage insurance in Texas offers fewer choices than standard automobile insurance.
Online Quick Quote
Motorcycle Insurance Quote Form
If you choose to ride a motorcycle in Texas, you should know some insurance laws that differ from those that apply to standard automobiles. There are fewer choices for motorcycle insurance than for automobile insurance. By knowing the differences, you can make the best choices on how best to insure yourself when you ride.
Minimum Liability Insurance
In Texas, you must insure both your car and motorcycle to the same minimum liability standard. Your insurance policy must cover at least $30,000 for each injured person with a maximum of $60,000 regardless of the number of injuries involved. You must also carry at least $25,000 property damage coverage. For additional premiums, you can buy higher limits that might better protect your family's asset base in the event of an accident-related lawsuit. Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection is a no-fault medical coverage that pays for each insured person's injuries resulting from an accident regardless of who caused it. In Texas, this coverage is optional for automobile owners and must be rejected in writing if you choose not to carry it. For motorcycle insurance i motorcycle liability t is not available at all. You might not be eligible to collect no-fault benefits from any policy or sue for damages within the state's no-fault threshold. Be sure you are able to cover any expenses your motorcycle insurance will not.
Though your auto insurance agent must offer you uninsured motorist coverage for your car, he is not required to do so for your motorcycle. Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your injuries and damages for which another person is responsible but cannot pay because of missing, invalid or insufficient insurance coverage. If you desire this coverage on your motorcycle insurance policy in Texas, you might have to ask for it specifically.
No Helmet Health Insurance Law
Former law required a person be covered with a minimum of $10,000 in health insurance for injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident to be eligible for an exception for the offense of operating or riding a motorcycle without a helmet. The law removes that minimum amount. The law requires the Texas Department of Insurance to prescribe a standard proof of health insurance for issuance to persons who are at least 21 years of age and covered by an applicable health insurance plan. "Health insurance plan" means an individual, group, blanket, or franchise insurance policy, insurance agreement, evidence of coverage, group hospital services contract, health maintenance organization membership, or employee benefit plan that provides benefits for health care services or for medical or surgical expenses incurred as a result of an accident. Basically they must either add the words “MOTORCYCLE HEALTH” to the insurance card or supply a letter with the same basic information as the card to include the words “MOTORCYCLE HEALTH: Standard Proof of Health Insurance”.
The law prohibits a peace officer from stopping or detaining a person who is the operator of or a passenger on a motorcycle for the sole purpose of determining whether the person has successfully completed a motorcycle operator training and safety course or is covered by a motorcycle health insurance plan and repeals provisions relating to a DPS-issued sticker required to be displayed on a motorcycle by a motorcycle owner. Quote Form
Battistone Insurance Group