Auto Insurance Rules
Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to be able to pay for the auto accidents they cause. Most drivers do this by buying automobile liability insurance coverage. Auto Liability coverage pays to repair or replace the other driver’s car and pays other people’s medical expenses.
It does not pay to repair or replace your car or for your injuries.
The minimum coverage amount required by the state’s financial responsibility law is $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. 30/60/25
Financial responsibility is the ability to pay for any accidents you cause. The state’s Transportation Code lists various ways for drivers to establish financial responsibility. Most drivers do this by buying auto liability insurance.
Violating the Law
Not having proof of auto liability insurance results in severe penalties for violating the state’s financial responsibility law. A first conviction will result in a fine between $175 and $350. Subsequent convictions could result in fines of $350 to $1,000,
suspension of your driver’s license, and impounding of your automobile.
When you obtain an auto insurance policy, you will receive a proof-of-insurance card.
You will need this card to show proof of insurance when you:
•are asked for it by a law enforcement officer
•have an accident
•register your car or renew its registration
•obtain or renew your driver’s license
•get your car inspected.
TexasSure is a auto insurance verification system that allows law enforcement and county tax officials to confirm whether a vehicle in Texas has personal auto liability insurance coverage. This means, for example, that a law enforcement
officer can electronically confirm during a traffic stop whether a registered vehicle has insurance in effect.TexasSure will help reduce the number of uninsured vehicles in Texas. An estimated 4 million vehicles – one in five – on Texas roads are uninsured. The program should also prevent motorists from avoiding the law by using counterfeit proof of insurance cards or canceling cards after they’re used for a registration or inspection.
Minimum Texas auto insurance requirements 30/60/25.
Battistone Insurance Group